Thank your for helping us to Improve your experience
Ease of use
Clarity of presentation
Technical performance
Find out more on
No records
UAE Pro League
news article image

In Brief: 13th edition of Arabian Gulf Super Cup

The upcoming clash between Sharjah and Shabab Al Ahli at Al Nasr Club’s Al Maktoum Stadium on Friday, January 22nd, marks the 13th edition of the Arabian Gulf Super Cup in the professional era, which started in the 2008-09 season.


The UAE Pro League announced that the match will be held under the “Our Winter is Super” slogan, which aligns with the “World’s Coolest Winter” initiative launched by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai.


Five teams managed to claim the title in the previous 12 editions. Shabab Al Ahli collected it a record four titles, with the last being in the 2016-17 season. Al Wahda and Al Ain have each three titles to their names, with the Clarets winning the title in the 2011-12, 2017-18 and 2018-19 seasons, and Al Ain winning in 2009-10, 2012-13 and 2015-16. In addition, Emirates Club claimed the title in 2010-11 and Sharjah are the title holders after winning the 2019-20 edition.


According to the Arabian Gulf Super Cup regulations, the match is contested by the Arabian Gulf League reigning champions and the UAE President’s Cup title holders. If one team wins both titles, the league winners face the Arabian Gulf League runners-up.


In the case of a draw after the regular time, the match is then decided by a penalty shoot-out and no extra time is played, which was the case in the past six editions.

feedback icon Send feedback